Friday 19th July 2024
Friday 19th July 2024
गृहपृष्ठPoliticsEC completes preparation for National Assembly election

EC completes preparation for National Assembly election

KATHMANDU – The Election Commission is all set to conduct the National Assembly election slated for tomorrow. The election is being held for 19 posts of the National Assembly member.

Entire management of peace and security, health protocol and election centres has been over, according to EC Spokesperson Shaligram Poudel. “All works for the election except setting up booth and all-party meeting have been over,” he said, adding that the remaining works would also be done today.

With the beginning of silence period, the election publicity has stopped. Security persons, election employees and team of health workers have been managed. The voting is being conducted from 9:00am to 3:00pm Wednesday. There are eight polling stations and 14 centres across the country.

The term of 19 NA members is expiring coming March 4. Among 19, eight are of CPN UML, four of CPN (Unified Socialist), four of Maoist Centre, and three of Nepali Congress. There is the constitutional provision that election to NA members should be held before 35 days of the expiry of term. Currently, nine political parties are in the election fray.

According to EC, Nepali Congress, CPN UML, Maoist Centre, CPN (Unified Socialist), Rastriya Janamorcha, Loktantrik Samajbadi Party Nepal, Nepal Workers and Peasants Party, Janata Samajbadi Party Nepal and Rastriya Prajatantra Party are taking part in the election.

There are 2,025 voters for the election. They are Province Assembly members, and local level chiefs and deputy chiefs. It is expected that the voters will reach the polling stations and voting centres by the evening.

There is the quota of seven women, three Dalit, two disabled or minority and seven others for the NA member. There is the constitutional provision that the term of one third NA members is expired every two years. The upper house of the federal parliament, NA has 59 members.

Write your comments