Monday 27th May 2024
Monday 27th May 2024
गृहपृष्ठPoliticsNo-confidence motion registered against Province 1 Chief Minister Rai

No-confidence motion registered against Province 1 Chief Minister Rai

37 provincial members of the ruling NCP tables no-confidence motion to vote Chief Minister Rai out

KATHMANDU – Nearly three dozen provincial assembly members of the ruling Nepal Communist Party (NCP) have initiated a process to vote Chief Minister of Province 1 Sherdhan Rai out of the office.

37 provincial members close to the NCP led by Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’ tabled a no-confidence motion against Chief Minister Rai on Sunday.

Indra Bahadur Angbo, a provincial member who was sacked as Economic Affairs and Planning Minister on Saturday, is leading the no-confidence motion process. They have proposed NCP standing committee member Bhim Acharya as the new Chief Minister of the province.

Meanwhile, three members in Rai-led cabinet of Province have also resigned from their posts. Earlier on Saturday, accusing Angbo of supporting a plan to topple the provincial government, Chief Minister Rai had fired him from the post of Economic Affairs and Planning Minister.

Following the federal government decision to dissolve the House of Representatives last week, the ruling NCP is on the verge of a split. The intra party dispute in the ruling Nepal Communist Party (NCP) has also been causing ripples in various provinces.

Both factions led by Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli and Prachanda are claiming the party they lead as an official party.

Write your comments