Monday 20th May 2024
Monday 20th May 2024
गृहपृष्ठNepalNew chiefs, officials of five constitutional bodies sworn in

New chiefs, officials of five constitutional bodies sworn in

Chief Justice Rana administers oath of office and secrecy to chiefs of five constitutional bodies; Constitutional bodies’ officials appointed without parliamentary hearings

KATHMANDU – Chief Justice Cholendra Shumsher JB Rana administered the oath of office and secrecy to heads of various constitutional bodies including Prem Kumar Rai, the Chief Commissioner of the Commission for Investigation of Abuse of Authority (CIAA).

Heads of five constitutional bodies were sworn in at a ceremony held at the President’s official residence Sheetal Niwas amid the presence of President Bidya Devi Bhandari.

Similarly, other members of the constitutional bodies were administered oath of office and secrecy by their respective heads.

According to President’s personal aide Bhesh Raj Adhikari, 38 heads and other officials of various constitutional bodies out of 45 recommendations made by the Constitutional Council.

Though the Constitutional Council makes recommendations to be followed by hearings and approval from a parliamentary hearings committee and appointment by the President, the recommendations did not get tabled at the parliamentary hearings committee.

Earlier on December 15 last year, the government had amended the Constitutional Council Act through an ordinance to allow the Council to convene its meeting if majority members are present. The meeting of the Council held on the same day decided to make recommendations for the appointments of 38 officials in various constitutional bodies.

After House Speaker Afni Prasad Sapkota and main opposition party leader Sher Bahadur Deuba boycotted the meeting, the Council meeting held of majority members held on December 15 decided to make recommendations for the appointments on various constitutional bodies.

Citing that the Parliamentary Hearings Committee cannot conduct hearings of the nominees picked by the Constitutional Council after the dissolution of the House, House Speaker Sapkota had sent back the original copy of the letter sent by the government asking the House to convene the hearings.

Write your comments