Saturday 18th May 2024
Saturday 18th May 2024
गृहपृष्ठPoliticsNepal-India Joint Commission’s meeting kicks off in New Delhi 

Nepal-India Joint Commission’s meeting kicks off in New Delhi 

Know who are in the 12-member Nepali delegation headed by Foreign Minister Pradeep Gyawali 

KATHMANDU: Nepal and India are holding a meeting of the joint commission today at New Delhi. The Sixth Meeting of Nepal-India Joint Commission is currently underway.

Nepal’s Minister for Foreign Affairs Pradeep Gyawali on Thursday reached New Delhi to head the Nepali side in the joint commission meeting. 

The Indian side will be led by Indian Minister of External Affairs Subrahmanyam Jaishankar.

The joint commission is a high-level bilateral mechanism to review the overall state of bilateral relations and various areas of cooperation between two countries. 

This is the sixth meeting of the joint commission going to be held after it was formed in June 1987. 

Earlier in August 2019, Nepal had organized the Fifth Meeting of the Nepal-India Joint Commission in Kathmandu.

As its meetings are held alternately in Nepal and India, New Delhi is hosting the Sixth Meeting of the Joint Commission. 

According to Nepal’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MoFA), the Sixth Joint Commission Meeting in New Delhi will discuss the whole gamut of Nepal-India bilateral relations, including trade, transit, energy, boundary, COVID-19 cooperation, infrastructure, connectivity, investment, agriculture, tourism, culture, among others.

Nepal has sent a 12-member delegation headed by Foreign Minister Gyawali.

Other members in the delegation include Nepa’s Ambassador to India Nilambar Acharya, Foreign Secretary Bharat Raj Paudyal, Health Secretary Laxman Aryal, Foreign Ministry South Asia Division Head Yagya Bahadur Hamal and other senior officials of the Ministry of Finance, Ministry of Energy, Irrigation and Water Resources and Ministry of Industry, Commerce and Supplies, among other government agencies.

Write your comments