Thursday 22nd February 2024
Thursday 22nd February 2024
गृहपृष्ठPoliticsJSP dispute: Majority executive members support chair Yadav

JSP dispute: Majority executive members support chair Yadav

KATHMANDU – Executive committee members of the Janata Samajbadi Party (JSP) have summoned before the Election Commission today. The executive members reached the EC and verified their signatures as per the EC decision to give verdict for the authenticity of the party. The Both sides of the JSP led by Upendra Yadav and Mahantha Thakur reached the EC and gave their valid signatures to the support of their leaders.

It is stated that the 34 executive committee members signed in support of Yadav while 16 signed to support Thakur. However, executive member Resham Chaudhary remained neutral. JSP leader Mohammud Istihak Rai shared that they were in clear majority in the signature verification and there was no chances of splitting the party as per existing laws as another faction does not have 40 per cent.

The EC had earlier formed a bench and conducted a legal hearing from July 18 to 22 for sorting out the dispute regarding the authenticity of the party.

JSP will join government: Yadav

Talking to media persons in brief at the EC premises after verifying the signatures, Janata Samajbadi Party (JSP) Chair Upendra Yadav said the party would soon be joining the government led by Nepali Congress President Sher Bahadur Deuba.

Stating that he had the support of a majority of executive members, he said the party would be part of the incumbent government. As he said, the party would consider about remaining members if they get back to it with self-review.

Rajendra Mahato, the parliamentary party leader of the JSP Thakur faction said the party which was united a year ago for the liberation of the suppressed and exploited people got split today and it was unfortunate. He promised to move ahead by taking up the ownership of the agenda of Madhes and the rights of Madhes people.

Write your comments