Wednesday 17th April 2024
Wednesday 17th April 2024
गृहपृष्ठSportsBayern, the champions of Europe

Bayern, the champions of Europe

Lisbon- German giants Bayern Munich have been crowned as Europe’s champion after the 1-0 victory over PSG on Monday.

Though Bayern came into the final as firm favorites with a star player in every single position, they began on the back foot. In the 19th minute, Mbappe passed the ball to Neymar, who had to beat only the goalkeeper Neuer, and Neuer made the save with his legs.

In the 22nd minute, Lewandowski received the ball with the first touch and curled it in with his second touch to beat Navas, but the ball ended up hitting the post.

The big chance for PSG came at the 45+1 minute when Mbappe passed the ball to Herrera, who had to get it past only Neuer, but Herrera struck the ball straight to Bayern’s goalkeeper.

In the subsequent minute, PSG player Kehrer cut across Coman and sent his counterpart crashing to the ground. Bayern’s players appealed for a penalty. But the referee and VAR denied the penalty saying that the Bayern attacker had simply lost his balance.

In the 59th minute, Kimmich curled in the ball at the edge of the six-yard box and Coman, who started his career at PSG, headed the ball to the net to put Bayern ahead in the game.

In the 71st minute, Marquinhos surprised German goalkeeper Neuer, but Neuer stretched himself and saved the ball with his legs.

PSG was searching for an equalizer until the last minute. But at the second minute of extra time, Neymar shot Mabappe’s pass just wide of the target.

It was the first instance of PSG not scoring in 35 matches. Also, Bayern player Lewandowski didn’t score a goal for the first time in the last 10 CL games.

Bayern’s Goalkeeper Neuer was rightfully adjudged the Man of the Match prize after making a series of excellent saves.

Bundesliga winner is the first team to win all games on the road to the title and has only become the second team to complete the treble for the two times alongside Barcelona.

German titan Bayern bagged the biggest trophy in Europe after 7 years for the sixth time, only behind Real Madrid (13) and AC Milan (7).

Aashish Sunar, Sub-Editor and Writer for Kathmandu Pati English, covers issues on politics, marginalized community, international relations, economics, and sports. Additionally, he’s Co-founder & Editor of Boliverse. He is pursuing an undergraduate degree in International Studies and Economics at Soka University of America. He tweets @imAashishSunar.

Write your comments